Do You Support The Spanking Ban?

21 01 2007

I don’t remember being spanked as a child, but I think that doesn’t mean I wasn’t spanked. With having an alcoholic father, I probably was but just blocked it out. Spanking comes in so many forms. Whether, it’s a smack on the hand or a swat on the tush.

Some people call it abuse. What do YOU call abuse?

 Calling your kid a moron is abuse. Calling your kid a dumbass is abuse. Abuse is different in many ways. Do you believe that the government has the right to tell us how to raise our children? 

I think that the ban is stupid and parents have the right to raise their kids as they see fit. Now the ban should be for those who have a criminal background on child abuse or any type of physical abuse.

That’s just my opinion.

What is your opinion? Do you think that there should be a law against spanking? Share your thoughts and comments with us.

 

SACRAMENTO – The state Legislature is about to weigh in on a question that stirs impassioned debate among moms and dads: Should parents spank their children?

Assemblywoman Sally Lieber, D-Mountain View, wants to outlaw spanking children up to 3 years old. If she succeeds, California would become the first state in the nation to explicitly ban parents from smacking their kids.

Making a swat on the behind a misdemeanor might seem a bit much for some — and the chances of the idea becoming law appear slim, at best — but Lieber begs to differ.

“I think it’s pretty hard to argue you need to beat a child 3 years old or younger,” Lieber said. “Is it OK to whip a 1-year-old or a 6-month-old or a newborn?”

The bill, which is still being drafted, will be written broadly, she added, prohibiting “any striking of a child, any corporal punishment, smacking, hitting, punching, any of that.” Lieber said it would be a misdemeanor, punishable by up to a year in jail or a fine up to $1,000, although a legal expert advising her on the proposal said first-time offenders would probably only have to attend parenting classes.

The idea is encountering skepticism even before it’s been formally introduced. Beyond the debate among child psychologists — many of whom believe limited spanking can be effective — the bill is sure to face questions over how practical it is to enforce and opposition from some legislators who generally oppose what they consider “nanny government.”

“Where do you stop?” asked Assemblyman Chuck DeVore, R-Irvine, who said he personally agrees children under 3 shouldn’t be spanked but has no desire to make it the law. “At what point are we going to say we should pass a bill that every parent has to read a minimum of 30 minutes every night to their child? This is right along those same lines.”

Continue To Read More On The Spanking Ban

Actions

Information

13 responses

30 01 2007
Stephanie Buteyn

I think that this ban is a good thing. I believe that spanking is wrong. When the child grows older, they will remember when their parents spanked them. It can make a child rebellious and they will do bad things. This is what I believe and I think this ban is a good thing.

28 02 2007
crippled_creek

those who cant do with words and actions…curse and hit.
sure to stop a child from getting burnt otr run over now is an exception to the rule.
otherwise learn some skills.!!!!!!!!
punsihment only works when fear is in the room too. long known. why in my childhood the worst kids were from the catholic school of rulers on the knuckles and kneel on rice.
fear and respect dont live in the same house so as a parent and person ,you have to chose.

6 08 2007
Jennifer

I don’t think spanking is child abuse, I think hitting you child when you are angry is child abuse. There IS a difference. Sometimes words are not enough, and when you spank your child for something they have done wrong, something the parent has told them not to do several times, it’s time for a little spanking. I don’t agree with hitting in the face, kicking, punching, or name calling; there has to be a limit, ofcourse. But that’s why the children of the world today are growing up to be little bad asses, it’s because everyone is trying to outlaw spanking… when your child knows there is nothing more you can do but tell them to stop, they will run all over you. I know when I was a child everytime my Mama threatened a spanking I would stop… You have to decide if you are gonna parent the child or let them rule over you. If my daughter oversteps her boundaries enough for a spanking, thats what she will get. I’ll be damned if I’m gonna let the government tell me how to raise my child.

12 10 2007
Mimi

Spanking is NOT abuse. The worst kids I know are ones who have never been spanked. They know that no matter what they do, they will just have to endure a “talking to,” or maybe sit in a corner for a few minutes. They are the least respectful of other people and property. Banning spanking will only take a disciplinary tool away from good parents. Do you really think people who abuse their children now are gonna give a crap about a spank ban and stop? NO. The spanking that isn’t hurting anyone anyways will stop, and other kids will still be abused. Do you know that in Sweden there has been a significant increase in youth violent crime since their spanking ban? just some food for thought.

12 01 2008
Jarrett

I 150% agree with Jennifer’s comment. I believe that child abuse and spanking are two different things. It’s plain and simple; if a child does not want to get spanked, they will listen and comply when told not to do something. Children today should be lucky that they no longer receive the strap (I’m sure some do, which is terrible). If you look around and see all these bad-ass children walking around the malls in their own cliques at age 13 with purses, cell phones, makeup, and designer clothing, you will understand that children are being given many more freedoms than they should receive at such a young age. And when the parents tell them that they shouldn’t do such and such act or they are grounded, do you actually think that the child listens, let alone cares? What next, they get allowance taken away? Whoopee, that’s just more incentive for the child to steal from the mother’s purse, or even start borrowing money from everyone. Not a good habit eh? Or what about the classic situation where the child wants to go out with their friends to the mall or some concert and the parents say “nope, sorry, you have to stay home and finish your homework and clean up your room.” Do you think the child will actually give a shit these days if their parents say that? I don’t think so, the child will just put up an argument and then sneak out later on. Therefore, by outlawing spanking, the government is secretly teaching children to defy laws and rules for lack of a fear of being punished. When I was a kid growing up in the 80s and 90s, I would get a spanking every once in a while if I did something wrong, and you know what, I didn’t do it again because I didn’t want to get spanked. Simple as that.

9 02 2008
kapu

I was first spanked as a child when the age of just four years. My father spanked my bottoms four times in a row.I have also seen that he was spanking my brothers also. My father used to spanked our bottoms when we did any wrong thing. He uses his hand as well as his foot to spanked us. But today we are living as good people because of his spankings. so I think spanking is good

13 02 2008
john

SSpankings are a supporter of abuse. there is no point to hitting a kid, and if they remeber that then when they are older they will accept hitting as punishment. I know this because my sister was spanked, and when she moved out was a victim of domestic abuse.

13 02 2008
Matt

look at this, i quote “Assemblywoman Sally Lieber, D-Mountain View, wants to outlaw spanking children up to 3 years old. If she succeeds, California would become the first state in the nation to explicitly ban parents from smacking their kids.”

SMACKING

it is punishment that causes fear through pain, and the kids will think its ok to hit their little brothere because mommy or daddy smacks them.

If you push your kid off the couch, because you told them to get off and they wouldn’t and they hit their head, it is the same thing as a spanking, punishment through pain. think about it

29 04 2008
Fernando

I don’t think spanking is child abuse. The problem we have today is the the government is telling us that spanking is abuse that’s why we have problems with the kids in school in gangs and in jail today. If it was like it years before we got so screw up about abuse we would not have so problems with the kids. I can remember the bad I did when I was in my teen years my dad spanked for doing bad and sometimes we sat and we talked about the bad and the good he also grounded at times. I loved my dad for being there and doing what needed to be done he was my best friend I don’t think Spanking is abuse.
The worst kids I know are ones who have never been spanked. Back when I went in the Army Drill sergeants could yell at the recruits and today it’s abuse this is the new army I had some friends in the 70’s that were trouble kids the courts put them in the army and they changed for the good and retired army after 20 years. I’m also retired army and today and also a Chaplain.

2 09 2008
mamamay

I don’t think spanking is the same as abuse. In my opinion, a quick swat on the behind is not the same as a beating. I also think this is going to be extremely difficult for the government to enforce and could lead to God knows what other laws as offshoots of this. Don’t get me wrong…I don’t think spanking is the best or most effective form of discipline. But, I also think spanking and child abuse are not one and the same. There is actually a really great debate about spanking right now at http://www.opposingviews.com/questions/is-spanking-an-acceptable-form-of-discipline. Experts from both sides debate the issue, and both sides make some really valid and thought-provoking points.

10 09 2008
Bonnie Kuelker

There’s no question that hitting is abusive. Why this is still being debated is beyond me. My mother-in-law was visiting from out of the country and brings up “I notice you don’t spank your daughter what do you use for discipline” I responded saying that she was only 9-months-old and I didn’t think she was capable of misbehaving, much less understand a spanking. She informed me that all of her kids had been spanked by the time they were 3 months. Can you imagine an infant being spanked? I do think they should go about making it illegal for infants less then 6 months first because it could be seriously harmful or even fatal. Besides the fact it’s just pointless what are you going to spank them for anyways, spitting up on you, or having a hard time falling asleep? Really strange.

2 04 2009
Luke

I don’t believe in spanking children. Spanking, swatting…. IT’S ALL THE SAME. Frankly, there difference in spanking and hitting, it’s still physical contact. It teaches children that it IS ok to payback a person with violence. There are several other ways to discipline your kids. I was beaten once. Before you say anything like, well, you were never spanked and just a spoiled brat and things ike that… I didn’t deserve the beating for what I did (made F on mid term report). It’s not fun when you go to school the next day and everyone asking, “Why can’t you sit down”? I resented my father and still do today. He is not a part or be a part of mine and my children’s lives.

22 04 2009
Dave

Bonnie

Get real, no one is speakin about spanking an infant.. what are you? A goof ball? We are talking about a CONTROLLED, SWAT on the BUT to a 2 or 3 year old that misbehaves… NOT A BEATING…

Typical libral… taking everything out of context and applying the same law to every situation… thats like wearing the same tampon for all types of flows….. IT IS NOT A ONE SIZE FITS ALL….

NONE ONE HAS SAID ABOUT SPANKING AN INFANT….

I’ll be damn if the government is gonna tell me how to raise my kids…

Leave a Reply

