Child punishment or abuse? You decide….

22 10 2006

I was searching for some parenting resources and a page from a site came up about spanking….Okay…..I read a paragraph…..stopped and almost cried…..started to read some more….stopped and got angry and almost cried again. At this poing I was horrified on what I was reading.

As I continued to read, I just got overly upset, angry, and to put it bluntly, PO’d. What is this world coming to? Why do children have to take this type of abuse? Clearly, this website is a Christian Church. Promoting “beating” their kids and they give you very defined instructions on how to beat them and what to say when you are beating them with a Bible….What the heck is this…How is beating a child like that called love? I could never do this to my child. A slap on the butt or hand is justifiable…NOT beating them with a Bible and calling them sissy…

I am a Christian and I do not go to church(I pray at home), BUT I do believe that beating your children is a big sin…..I know that this issue might bring some controversy but that is to be expected..

I could go on and on about this but I would like to hear from you. What are your views on this and thoughts about the website I speak of….Here is the link to page where they talk about the beatings…. I really want to hear what you have to say…
CLICK HERE FOR ARTICLE

Actions

Information

5 responses

22 10 2006
(un)relaxeddad

My impression is that this site is kind of satirical? I mean, they could possibly be serious about this – http://www.landoverbaptist.org/news0500/femsoul.html – but I doubt it!

27 10 2006
Debate board Blog Digest - Child punishment or abuse? You decide....

[…] As I continued to read, I just got overly upset, angry, and to put it bluntly, PO’d. What is this world coming to? Why do children have to take this type of abuse? Clearly, this website is a Christian Church. Promoting “beating” their kids and they give you very defined instructions on how to beat them a … I think it’s very interestingLink to original article […]

10 11 2006
Shan

Abuse is the weapon of the weak! 😦

10 11 2006
Angie

Shan,

I agree!!! Thanks for commenting!

11 01 2008
Stephanie

you have got to be kidding me! this cant be a real church…as i read this, i got extremely upset. My step-father is a pastor, and he would never teach us to do anything like this. Its terrible to see exactly what this world is comming too.

Leave a Reply

