What a combo…..ADHD, Ritalin and preschool

20 10 2006

Everyone has their own beliefs and disbeliefs about if you should medicate your children just because the doctors “say so”. What about second opinions? What about other treatment options? Do children really need this drug or can they cope with the life they are use to?
I am not sure what to think. If it came to my attention that any of my children had ADHD or was suspected of it, I would definitly get a second, third, or even a forth opinion. I really would prefer not to medicate my child if there is no need for it.
Here is an article that I found and I would like to see what you have to say.

Click here for article

Actions

Information

2 responses

20 10 2006
bonnieq

If parents do not give their children foods with granulated sugars in them, such as candy and so forth, and feed them mostly raw fruits and vegetables, most ADHD children would no longer suffer the malady. Keep it natural, Angie, and you will be so glad you did. 🙂

As a licensed counselor, I hate labels; they have a tendency to denote incurable. Just like the label “bi-polar.” Years ago, the very same symptoms were diagnosed as hypo- or hyperglycemia, easily corrected by diet. What it amounts to, no pun intended, more money for physicians, psychiatrists, pharmacists and drug companies.

My naturopath’s favorite description of doctors is, “They tend to bury their mistakes;” and, my son declared them as “population controllers.” So true. Why, we’ve only to look at the opening line of the Hippocratic Oath– which doctors take vowing to do no harm– to discover who is the father of modern medicine: it certainly isn’t God. The oath is made to every false Greek god claimed at the time Hippocrates wrote the vow.

Oh, I do see a need for doctors but only to “set and stitch.” It’s the only thing they can do, everything else they do is purely guess work and usually slowly poisons us; so, they prescribe even more drugs. 🙂

Bravo, Angie, for taking great care in what you will allow your child to ingest or to be given. You are so right: God gave you a precious gift and expects of you the highest level of mothering based on His admonitions.

Love in Christ,
http://bonnieq.wordpress.com

21 10 2006
Angie

Hi Bonnie!

What a great comment! Thank you! You are so right about doctors are only to “set and stitch.” Back when my grandparents were children, they never had all the medicine they have now. I do, on some level, believe that some medicines are nessessary…like antibiotics and medicine to cure infection and to pro-long life for HIV/AIDS patients and cancer patients….but I do question the harmfull side affects they give. Is it really all that good if the side affects are making you in pain or if the pain medication the doctor prescribes causes you to become dependent? I know that I want to prolong my life as long as I can to see my grandchildren become adults.

Thank you for your kind words:

Bravo, Angie, for taking great care in what you will allow your child to ingest or to be given. You are so right: God gave you a precious gift and expects of you the highest level of mothering based on His admonitions.

I appreciate that so much. I always look out on what the doctor has to say and most of the time, I do agree, but if there is something that I do not like, neither me or my husband will let the doctors decision overpower ours. This is our kids, our family and we need to do what is right for them.
Have a great weekend!
-Angie

Leave a Reply

